Board of Directors

Nigel Brooks, President (Term: 5/16/2018 to 5/7/2022)
Richard “Rick” J. Escamilla, Vice President (Term: 5/16/2018 to 5/7/2022)
Linda Clem, Secretary (Term: 5/2/2020 to 5/4/2024)
John L. Gordon, Assistant Vice President (Term: 5/2/2020 to 5/4/2024)
Ernest Hubert, Assistant Secretary (Term: 5/16/2018 to 5/7/2022)


Brazoria County Municipal Utility District No. 28 is a political subdivision of the State of Texas authorized by the Texas Commission of Environmental Quality (TCEQ) to provide water, sewage, drainage and other utility-related services within the MUD boundaries.

The district was created by Order of the Texas Natural Resource Conservation Commission (TNRCC) on February 27, 2003. The district operates solely within the city limits of the City of Pearland and has taxing authority over 18 tracts of land consisting of 15 subdivisions in the district.

The district works with developers within the district to provide infrastructure for development by issuing bonds the proceeds of which are used to reimburse developers for their initial cost of infrastructure development (water, storm sewers, detention ponds etc). This financing method allows for the cost of development to be paid off over a period of years through an ad valorum tax levied on properties in the district rather than having the development cost added to the price of a property at the time of the sale.

As construction of each phase of each System is certified to be complete, the water distribution and storm sewers are transferred to the City of Pearland which has agreed to operate and maintain the System at its expense.  The detention ponds remain the property of the district.

The district is governed by 5 elected directors who must be either property owners or eligible voters of the district, the terms of the directors are for 4 years and are staggered with 3 directors elected at one time, with the remaining 2 directors elected two years later. The most recent election was May 2020 when 2 directors were installed. The next election will be May 2022 for the 3 director positions.

Current Board of Directors

Current board meetings are held at 5:00 p.m. on the third Wednesday of the month at the offices of the district’s attorney Allen Boone Humphries and Robinson on the southwest freeway. The district is currently considering moving the monthly board meetings to within the district to make them more easily accessible to our residents.

As a reminder, the City of Pearland operates our water and sewer system and provides garbage collection services. If you have any questions about your service, please call the City of Pearland at (281) 652-1603 or visit the following link:


District Map

District Map (PDF)

Election Information

Order Cancelling Election and Declaring Unopposed Candidates Elected to Office

Orden Que Cancela la Elección y Declara Electos al Cargo a los Candidatos Sin Oponentes

關於取消選舉及 宣佈無競爭對手候選人當選的命令

Lệnh Hủy Bỏ Bầu Cử Và Tuyên Bố Các Úng Cử Viên Không Cử Vào Chửc Vu Tranh Cử

Board of Directors Elections / Elecciones de la Junta Directiva / Caùc Cuoäc Baàu Cöû Ban Giaùm Ñoác / 董事會選舉